Skip to content

Winter Weary | Cardamom Ice Cream

15 February 2011

cardamom ice cream
Something about this winter has really gotten me down. Perhaps it was the way major snowstorms repeatedly veered just to the north of Baltimore, leaving us with enough weather to make leaving the house difficult but falling far short of last year’s week-long snow day. The end of CSA season also hit me hard, and now that I make an effort to take photos of dinner, so did the early sunsets. Add to that such mysteries as why my basement sometimes smells like chimney smoke even though I don’t use my fireplace, why Snuggie manufacturers chose the most staticky fabric for a product intended for use during the most staticky season, and why my right big toe goes numb when I’m cold. Most vexing of all, however, is not that I was gifted an ice-cream maker for my December birthday, but that just looking at the thing has made my teeth chatter.

Over the past few days, grey skies have given way to sunshine. Yesterday reached almost 70 degrees, and I went outside without a scarf for the first time in far too long. While I know that the cries of “Spring is here!” are likely premature, I’m already having visions of eating meals on outdoor patios, trading stouts for margaritas, getting the feeling back in my right big toe, and, most importantly, making ice cream.

Lest I find myself in the middle of June without a few recipes under my belt, I took a deep breath, put on an extra sweater, and broke out the ice-cream maker. This recipe makes a boldly flavored ice cream, with notes of wood smoke that come not from a neighbor’s errant chimney but from the black cardamom pods, which I picked up on impulse at Wegman’s a few weeks ago. Maybe if we all start making ice cream now, summer will come to us sooner.

Click here for the recipe: Cardamom Ice Cream

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 17 February 2011 9:46 pm

    Ahhh, homemade ice cream! So yum!
    I have been having a bad winter myself. I literally have the weather chart on the homepage of my computer- praying for spring to come! I was thrilled to find out this weekend will be in the 60s!!!! Yay!
    xx,
    Tammy

  2. 18 February 2011 12:00 am

    Excellent way to lure summer in faster. ;) Love the flavor.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Winter Weary | Cardamom Ice Cream « taming the tart -- Topsy.com
  2. Going Homemade | Spiced Olive-Oil Granola « taming the tart
  3. » Going Homemade | Spiced Olive-Oil Granola taming the tart

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.