Skip to content

Take Me to Your Eater | Tomato & Quinoa-Stuffed Flying-Saucer Squash

5 August 2010

flying saucers are in season

Our CSA share often enough provides us with items that I once would have thought of as otherworldly (or still do—I’m looking at you, celeriac). While I quickly came to love scapes and most other surprises, Mike (the boyfriend) still shudders at even the tame and ubiquitous summer squash. So when I peered into the bag of this week’s haul and saw three flying saucers with skin the shade of green often applied to cartoon aliens, I knew that making something he would like out of patty pan squash was a challenge of planetary proportions (zing!).

Now, I have coaxed Mike into eating stuffed acorn squash, although thinking back, I wouldn’t be surprised if he fooled me by enthusiastically eating the filling and whisking his plate off to the sink, so I didn’t have the opportunity to confirm just how much squash flesh he “enjoyed.” I figured stuffing the patty pans was a pretty safe route. The night I tackled them, though, I may have been the bigger challenge. I was craving pizza so bad that I spent probably an hour browsing menus of pizza restaurants online. Admittedly, this is not that rare of a way for me to pass the time. (Do other people do this?)

I figured I could conquer the pizza craving by using some of the pile of tomatoes from Mom’s garden. I know, a bit of a stretch, but I have CSA guilt if I go out to eat with all those lonely veggies back at home. I had a bit of heavy cream in the fridge and gave everything some substance with quinoa. The verdict? Mike cleaned his plate, and I forgot about pizza…for a few hours at least.

I thought this would be a good recipe to kick off the blog because it illustrates the balance I’m always aiming for in my meals and hope that the other recipes I feature will show too. I get plenty of nutrition in with the quinoa, squash, and tomatoes, and I indulge with some cheesy creaminess. Had I wanted to keep things lighter, I might have just used some stock or tomato puree in place of the cream, and the cheese could be sadly easily omitted or replaced with a vegan substitute.

Click here for the recipe: Tomato & Quinoa-Stuffed Flying-Saucer Squash

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristina permalink
    6 August 2010 12:23 pm

    If that tastes half as good at it looks…I’m in! Food blogs are definitely a guilty pleasure for me. So excited for what’s to come! 😉

    • 7 August 2010 11:29 pm

      Thanks, Cristina! I love food blogs too! Stay tuned… 😉

Leave a Reply

