Skip to content

A Simple Desultory Tostada | Cilantro-Lime-Marinated Tofu Tostadas with Salsa Verde Cruda

22 September 2010

tofu tostada
I have a taco song. It goes “taco, taaaco…taco, taaaco.” I sing it when I’m sad, I sing it when I’m happy, and I sing when I want, well, tacos. I don’t know what it is about tacos, but they never fail to put me in a good mood. Not just a good mood, but a party mood. Perhaps it’s the margarita association. Margaritas also put me in a good, party mood. However, I often regret margaritas a few hours later—or would, if I wasn’t passed out.

Sometimes, despite my affinity for them and my proclivity for making them quite often, I regret tacos too. The tortillas invariably fail to hold up to the filling, so eating them becomes a chore. And because I insist on setting out a make-your-own taco bar, filling ramekins and bowls with an assortment of various taco fillings and accompaniments, the clean-up is a chore too.

Faced with a pint of tomatillos from the CSA, I found myself singing my taco song but not up for getting my hands too dirty. Recalling a birthday dinner a friend’s Colombian step-mom once made (hola, Sivan!), I realized there was an easy, delicious, and relatively tidy way out of my dilemma. Admittedly, I couldn’t recall what these were called when I made them, am still not sure tostada is not Taco Bell nomenclature, and am certain these are far from what they make in Colombia. I am convinced that the next time I’m craving tacos, I will consider the tostada route instead. You can eat these with a knife and fork or pizza-style with your hands—the baked tortillas hold up quite well to the toppings. Time to start working on a new song.

Click here for the recipe: Cilantro-Lime-Marinated Tofu Tostadas with Salsa Verde Cruda

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 September 2010 12:53 am

    I’m not sure that I’ve ever had a taco with tofu in it, but I have no idea why! These look so good. Definitely on my to make soon list!

Trackbacks

  1. Cinco de Mayo « taming the tart
  2. » Cinco de Mayo taming the tart

Leave a Reply

