Skip to content

My Boyfriend Loves Me(at) | Sweet Potato & Radish Top Soup

12 October 2010

soup
Anyone who knows Mike would probably be shocked to find out that he’s the one who convinced me that we should opt for the full rather than half share when we decided to join a CSA. While the vast majority of my diet is vegetable based, Mike could eat hamburgers and things ending in –wurst every day. His favorite vegetable? Onion. In response to this week’s CSA delivery of arugula, spinach, two kinds of lettuce, radishes, beets, sweet potatoes, cilantro, butternut squash, and a mystery green, Mike sighed, “This is a pretty disappointing week.”

Cooking for the two of us is actually less of a challenge than I thought it would be. Although Mike is what I would call picky, he is also a pretty hungry guy most of the time. Provided I exclude mayonnaise, ketchup, and chickpeas from the ingredients, he’ll usually eat just about whatever I make. But I like people not just to eat what I cook but to enjoy it too, and Mike isn’t fooling anyone, certainly not me, with any feigned enthusiasm. Sometimes, I go out of my way to cook things I know he’ll like. But other times, I admit, convinced that he just thinks he doesn’t like something, I leave out a few details when he asks what I’m making.

Unfortunately, I think he’s totally on to me. I couldn’t get away with calling this a “potato soup” for very long. I reluctantly revealed that it would contain sweet potatoes and the green tops of radishes. I saw the color run from his face. And when he ran to the grocery store to grab me an onion (the only vegetable I didn’t have in the house), he came back with bratwurst too. In the end, though, I think he enjoyed the soup. He ate the leftovers for lunch today, so at the very least he’s getting better at fooling me.

Click here for the recipe: Sweet Potato & Radish Top Soup

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cristina permalink
    12 October 2010 11:29 pm

    Yum! Gonna try it this weekend!

Leave a Reply

