Skip to content

A Not-So-Subtle Hint | Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

10 November 2010

whole-wheat chocolate chip cookies
As someone who tends to sneak in a bit of whole-wheat flour wherever I can, I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a copy of Good to the Grain for a while now. Every time Mike and I would go to our neighborhood bookstore, I’d make sure he saw me eyeing it. I may or may not have had him snap a photo of me holding it, just in case he ever needed to remember the title. My not-so-subtle hints paid off a few weeks ago when he surprised me with this book as a just-because-it’s-Friday gift.

Despite its gorgeous photos, drool-worthy recipes, and hard-to-find flours, this book is surprisingly unintimidating. Still, I thought it best to pick something simple to start with, something that didn’t require mail-order ingredients, a version of something for which I already have a pretty-perfected recipe: chocolate chip cookies. I am not too humble to tell you that my regular chocolate chip cookies are not only amazing, but can also be whipped up fast. In fact, I’ve been known to make a midnight batch when the wine-munchies strike. So what did I need Kim Boyce’s chocolate chip cookies for? Why mess with perfection? The problem with my regular chocolate chip cookies is that they do not last long in my house. Mike and I have both been guilty of indulging in a breakfast cookie (or three), and I can’t seem to avoid having one every time I’m in the kitchen when I know they’re in the house. (I’m in my kitchen a lot.) I know, a horrible problem to have.

As much as we all may hate to admit it, adding some whole-wheat flour to a recipe doesn’t make it guilt-free or erase the day’s other gluttonous indulgences. I mean, no one’s cutting back on the butter here. But these cookies hold their own right up there with my regular recipe. The whole-wheat flour adds a nuttiness to the flavor, a toothsome crunch to the texture, and a little fiber to the nutritional value. With the added benefit of filling you up, you might even lose the urge, or at least the ability, to eat an entire dozen in one sitting.

Click here for the recipe: Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 December 2010 5:58 am

    I just made these, and I loved them. But yours are nice and poofy. Mine were flat and sad.

    • 7 December 2010 6:19 pm

      Unattractive cookies are a cook’s gift. You can’t possibly let anyone else see them so must eat them yourself–and they often taste just as good! 😉

  2. 16 December 2010 1:34 am

    I am in love with that book and have proclaimed these cookies to be the best chocolate chip cookies of all time!

Leave a Reply

