Skip to content

Cinco de Mayo

5 May 2011

tofu tostada
To be completely honest with you, I don’t really need a reason to drink tequila and eat tacos. The fifth of May is as good a day as any as far as I’m concerned. But I’m pretty sure that every year I find myself googling why we celebrate Cinco de Mayo. Gosh, though, I can’t imagine why that information might not stick with me following a night of slamming margaritas and picking salt out of my hair.

As it turns out, Cinco de Mayo is not Mexico’s independence day, which is celebrated in September. According to reliable scholarly research Wikipedia, Mexicans in the state of Puebla celebrate this day to commemorate their victory over the French at the Battle of Puebla in 1862. Americans use the day to celebrate (and arguably mock) Mexican heritage, which I’m pretty sure translates into seizing upon this opportunity to get drunk and don sombreros.

I say, take it as an opportunity to make Cilantro-Lime-Marinated Tofu Tostadas with Salsa Verde Cruda. After all, they say tofu absorbs liquids like a sponge, so with any luck that’ll hold true for a belly full of tequila.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

